What I’ve Been Reading Lately

My Current Read

Red Clocks bu Leni Zumas. This was a Book of the Month Club pick and seems like it’s going to be right in my wheelhouse. I’m only about 50 pages in so far (as of Sunday, when I’m writing this post), but as long as my little guy takes a good nap, I’m planning on making a sizable dent in it this afternoon.

Publisher’s Description: 

Five women. One question. What is a woman for?

In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom.

Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eivør, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro’s best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or “mender,” who brings all their fates together when she’s arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.

RED CLOCKS is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking THE HANDMAID’S TALE for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous-even frightening-times.


Recently Read


Snap Judgement by Marcia Clark


Yes, THAT Marcia Clark, a la O J Simpson fame. This is the third book in a series about defense attorney Samantha Brinkman. I have enjoyed all three books in the series, and find the main character to be refreshing in the fact that she’s not portrayed as a perfect person. In fact she’s got a lot of childhood baggage and somewhat questionable morals when it comes to what she’s willing to do to defend her clients.

Publisher’s Description: 

In the third installment of Marcia Clark’s bestselling series, attorney Samantha Brinkman’s investigation into a family’s deadly secrets is compromised by a threat from her past.

When the daughter of prominent civil litigator Graham Hutchins is found with her throat slashed, the woman’s spurned ex-boyfriend seems the likely suspect. But only days later, the young man dies in what appears to be a suicide. Or was it? Now authorities are faced with a possible new crime. And their person of interest is Hutchins. After all, avenging the death of his daughter is the perfect reason to kill. If he’s as innocent as he claims, only one lawyer has what it takes to prove it: his friend and colleague Samantha Brinkman.

It’s Sam’s obligation to trust her new client. Yet the deeper she digs on his behalf, the more entangled she becomes in a thicket of family secrets, past betrayals, and multiple motives for murder. To win her case, she’s prepared to bend any law and cross any boundary that stands in her way. Sam has always played by her own rules, and it’s always worked…so far. But this case cuts so deep and so personal that one false move could cost her everything.


Force of Nature by Jane Harper

I loved Harper’s First book, The Dry; you can see my review of that book HERE. If you are thinking about reading Force of Nature, you don’t have to read the first book, but I loved it, so you might as well.  🙂

In this novel, the main character from The Dry, Aaron Falk, is back, this time with a partner. If you like a thriller that’s not scary, this is a good one. I did not see the rather complicated ending coming, and I appreciate that although the author tied up all the loose ends, it’s not necessarily a happy ending for everyone.

Publisher’s Description:

Five women go on a hike. Only four return. Jane Harper, the New York Times bestselling author of The Dry, asks: How well do you really know the people you work with?

When five colleagues are forced to go on a corporate retreat in the wilderness, they reluctantly pick up their backpacks and start walking down the muddy path.

But one of the women doesn’t come out of the woods. And each of her companions tells a slightly different story about what happened.

Federal Police Agent Aaron Falk has a keen interest in the whereabouts of the missing hiker. In an investigation that takes him deep into isolated forest, Falk discovers secrets lurking in the mountains, and a tangled web of personal and professional friendship, suspicion, and betrayal among the hikers. But did that lead to murder?


Up Next:

I’m doing pretty well on my #UnreadshelfProject, with two out of three of these being books I already owned. After I finish Red Clocks I’m going to take a look at my bookshelf and see what hits me.

What have you been reading lately?



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.